Kwaito legends Trompies

Kwaito legends Trompies added to Afropunk line-up

Share this...

Kwaito legends Trompies have been added to the bill at Afropunk Johannesburg on Sunday, December 30 and Monday, December 31 at Constitution Hill.

ALSO READ: Trompies: DJ Mahoota Doesn’t Perform With Us Anymore

Trompies are a South African music group who specialise in a type of pop music known as kwaito. The members of the group grew up together in a Soweto township and agreed to form a band after they had all completed their music studies in college. Beginning to make music in the mid 1990s, they have since sold over half a million records and have become very successful in producing and managing other artists as well through their record label Kalawa Jazmee.

As reported by IOL, opening the proceedings will be the winners of the Afropunk Joburg Battle Of The Bands: Red Robyn, a singer from Durban and PE’s Ikati Esengxoweni, the soulful acoustic duo from Port Elizabeth, have won this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to wow crowds at the internationally beloved festival.

This year’s theme is ‘The People Resist’, a call to action against racism, patriarchy and any form of hate.

Trompies, Ikati Esengxoweni and Robyn will join Kwesta, DJ Maphorisa, Thandiswa, Moonchild Sanelly, Phuzekhemisi, Ready D, The Internet, Thundercat, Flying Lotus, Kaytranada, Muzi, Azagaia, YoungstaCPT, Dope Saint Jude, FAKA, BBZ, Big Freedia, Nomisupasta, Automatic Live, Azagaia and BCUC. Anais B, TYGAPAW, K-$, DJ Coco.em, Deniece Marz and Phatstoki will be on the decks.

This year festival will be hosted by two radio DJs, YFM’s Carissa Cupido and 5FM’s vibrant Smash Afrika as well as longtime AFROPUNK host, America based Gitoo.

The Afropunk Festival is an annual arts festival that includes live music, film, fashion, and art produced by black artists. The festival made its first debut at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in 2005, and has since expanded to other parts of the world.

Image Courtesy:

Share this...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *