MKHMA Winners Sho Madjozi

MKHMA Winners announced Sho Madjozi win’s top award at Carnival City

Share this...

The Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards (MKHMA) held their 4th annual music ceremony at the lavish Big Top Arena in Ekurhuleni. The ostentatious occasion saw the likes of Cassper Nyovest, Sho Madjozi, Spikiri and Lady Zamar walking away with the coveted MKHMA award. Tshepi Mabulana and Massiv Metro’s Sibusiso “DJ Sbu” Leope hosted the prestigious event at Carnival City.

ALSO READ: Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards 2019 Nominees Announced

“Wow! What a year it’s been.” Says Perfecta Malinga, MKHMA Founder and CEO. “I am proud of the growth that the Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards has gone through this past year and the exceptional work that the entire team has put in to make this night happen. Thank you to all our partners who supported and stood by use through this period. Next year will be our fifth year hosting these awards, the year of Grace. Congratulations to all the winners who walked away winners on Saturday night. To all the nominees who didn’t win, as MKHMA, we consider them as winners. I urge them not to lose hope, as we still would like to see them at the 5th annual Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards.”

Uhuru’s opening performance set the mood for the evening, before Sho Madjozi captivated audiences with a performance of her hit single, John Cena. The WWE superstar was nowhere to be seen when Sho Madjozi gracefully accepted her MKHMA 19 trophy. Thebe Lenyora, as he is affectionally known, scooped the Lifetime Achievement award for his excellent contribution to Kwaito music, over the years. Other notable winners on the night include Mapaputsi, GP Ma-Orange and Manqonqo, just to name a few.

The full list of winners for the 4th annual Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards is as follows:

Best Producer

Best Kwaito Song of 2001 – 2005
Mapaputsi – Izinja (2003)

Best Mapantsula Dance Group
Self-Made Dancers (SMD)

Best House Artist

Best New House Artist Runner-Up
Soul Majistik

Best Kwaito Single Album
GP – MaOrange – Intuthwane

Best New Kwaito Artist

Best New Kwaito Artist Runner Up
Boitshepo Marumoagae

Best House Single Album
Lady Zamar – This is Love

Best House Radio Personality
Smanga “Darkness” Mhlophe (Siyathuthuka FM)

Best Kwaito Radio Personality
Ona Leburu (Mahikeng FM)

Radio Station that plays Kwaito Music
Mahikeng FM

Best Music Video
GP MaOrange ft. Tsibi & RS – Faka Lento

Best New GQOM Artist

Lifetime Achievement Award

Best Collaboration (Kwaito/Gqom/House)
Abofezela ft. Slovo – Ebandayo

Best DJ
Nayshen SA

Best GQOM Artist
Sho Madjozi

Best New House Artist

Most Voted Songs
Manqonqo ft Dason & Saviour – Eyadini

Best New Age Kwaito Song
Cassper Nyovest – Gets Getsa 2.0

Best New – New Age Kwaito Artist

Best Kwaito/GQOM Group or Duo
Soul Majistik

Best Kwaito Artist
Not Guilty

Image Courtesy:

Share this...