The 7th All Africa Business Leaders Awards Crown

The 7th All Africa Business Leaders Awards Crown Winners For Southern Africa

Share this...

The 7th All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA™) in Partnership with CNBC Africa announced the winners of the Southern Africa leg at the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE) in Sandton.

VIP guests joined the Southern Africa finalists, as they went head to head for the coveted AABLA™ regional trophy, in their respective categories.

“An entrepreneur and leader has unwavering belief in their vision and their ability to calmly manage through some of the toughest economic conditions – this is the reason we find ourselves here today celebrating the very best in business,” noted Managing Director of the ABN Group, Roberta Naicker, during her welcome address. “These awards are a tribute to those Captains of Industry who have made a qualitative and quantitative difference, to the companies, industries and communities that they serve.”

The awards were hosted against the backdrop of a stunning white lounge setting thanks to official décor partner, MOOVE Exhibition and Events Supplies, supported by AV and Technical Partner, TCH Bonisa.

AABLA™ Southern Africa Master of Ceremonies, Alexander Leibner looked the part in a tailored blue Tailor Me suit and kept VIP guests entertained throughout the night, as the AABLA™ Southern Africa winners were revealed as follows:

Young Business Leader of the Year Presented by Lancaster University Ghana 
Sylvester Chauke – Chief Architect, DNA Brand Architects

Business Woman of the Year
Yolisa Phahle – CEO, M-Net

Innovator of the Year
James Steere – Co-Founder, I-Drop Water

Industrialist of the Year Presented by the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC) 
General Mthembu – Founder, Mthembu Tissue Converting

Entrepreneur of the Year
Ivan and Lynette Saltzman – Founders, Dischem Pharmacies

Philanthropist of the Year
Jannie Mouton – Founder and Chairman, PSG Group

Company of the Year
Capitec Bank Holdings Ltd

Business Leader of the Year
Khalid Abdulla – Group CEO, African Equity Empowerment Investments (AEEI)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr Samuel Motsuenyane – Founder, Dr Sam Motsuenyane Rural Development Foundation

The winners will now go on to compete with East and West African winners in the AABLA™ Finale on November 30th in Sandton, which will be broadcast on CNBC Africa on December 7th.

The AABLA™ Southern Africa judging process was done in conjunction with Auditing Partner Grant Thornton and Research Partner Henley Business School. The 2017 AABLA™ Southern Africa judging committee included:

  • Chris Bishop, Managing Editor of Forbes Africa (Head Judge)
  • Kate Moodley, Franchise Director at Discovery
  • Jonathan Foster-Pedley, Dean and Director of Henley Business School Africa
  • Cas Coovadia, Managing Director of The Banking Association of South Africa
  • Khanyisile Kweyama, Chairperson of Brand SA
  • Prof. Lumkile Wiseman Nkuhlu, Chancellor of The University of Pretoria
  • Russell Loubser, Director of Strate Limited

The highlights of the Southern Africa AABLA™ will be broadcast on CNBC Africa on October 5th at 9pm CAT.

For more information, visit and follow the 7th All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA™) in Partnership with CNBC Africa on Twitter: @aablawards and #AABLA2017.

The AABLA™ are proudly produced by ABN Event Productions.

Share this...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *