Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards 2019 Nominees Announced

Celebrations filled the streets of Soweto after the Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards (MKHMA) revealed the nominees at the packed Zone 6 Venue in Soweto.

ALSO READ: The 2018 Mzansi Kwaito & House Music Awards Nominees Revealed

The star-studded affair marked the 4th year that MKHMA will be honouring the once forgotten legends of South African music as well as the future torch bearers of the Kwaito, House and Gqom genres in Mzansi. This is a major milestone for MKHMA as they continuously strive to highlight the importance of preserving these genres and encourages the promotion of emerging talent in the music industry.

“We are proud of the fact that we not only lead the pack in grooming and recognizing upcoming musicians in Mzansi,” says Mondli Mlauza, PR and Communications Officer at MKHMA. “but we back it up each and every year by awarding established artists and upcoming musicians on the same stage and Zizowa More when we do it again on the 30th of November at the Big Top Arena in Carnival City.”

The award ceremony which was recently marred with fake news allegations from a certain Sunday tabloid, announced one of its many victories of receiving its highest number of entries to date. Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards’ CEO, Mrs Perfecta Malinga, mentioned that 2 new categories have been added to the already existing 20 categories, namely Best Upcoming New Age Kwaito Artist and Best New Upcoming Gqom Artist. This decision was taken due to the influx of entries received from upcoming musicians for this year’s submissions.

The full list of nominees for the 4th annual Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards is as follows:

List of Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards 2019 Nominees

Best Kwaito Artist

  • Jakarumba
  • Mshoza
  • Not Guilty
  • Drencko

Best New (Upcoming) Kwaito Artist

  • Pura Mashankura
  • BLC Musiq
  • Gunchesa
  • Boitshepo Marumoagae
  • South Plugged
  • Bondas
  • Musical Vine
  • Abafana BaseKasi
  • Dangerbox
  • Stena Skelem
  • King Matalic
  • Feestoz

Best Kwaito Single

  • Dangerbox – Bobby
  • Jakarumba – Uthando
  • Mshoza – Ayina Chorus
  • GP MaOrange – Inthuthwane

Best Kwaito Radio Personality

  • Lep Seboko (Merafong FM)
  • Popkiss De Prince (Vow FM)
  • Listo Disto (Alex FM)
  • Ona Leburu (Mahikeng FM)

Best House Artist

  • Lady Zamar
  • Simmi
  • Nokwazi
  • Masaladi

Best New (Upcoming) House Artist

  • Distance
  • The SoulMajestic
  • Ozana
  • Cavodeep
  • Joss
  • Miss P
  • Q-Mark
  • Andy Ahh
  • Ges The Dj
  • NKR
  • Addicted 2 Africa
  • TSound

Best New (Upcoming) New Age Kwaito Artist

  • Taminology
  • Mally
  • Mrijo The Havock
  • Black Sunday
  • Mashwabana
  • Rytious
  • GS
  • Thulibathi

Best New (Upcoming) Gqom Artist

  • Mbizo
  • Makhonya
  • Tsetse Rooi
  • Yoli Bee
  • Flying Squad
  • Leburu and Ndofaya
  • Bondas
  • 2Rum

Best House Single Album

  • Heavy K f/t Ntombi – Ndibambe
  • Prince Kaybee – Gugulethu
  • Lady Zamar – This Is Love
  • Master KG f/t Zanda Zakuza – Skeleton Move

Best House Radio Personality

  • Tintswalo Kgaugelo Phakula (UNISA Radio)
  • Matibako Motimele (Alex FM)
  • Smanga “Darkness” Mhlophe (Siyathuthuka FM)

Most Voted Song

  • King Monada – Malwedhe
  • Manqonqo – Eyadini
  • Sho Madjozi – Huku
  • Prince Kaybee f/t Msaki – Fetch Your Life

Best Collaboration

  • Oskido f/t Mque – Ngci
  • Abofezela f/t Slovo – Ebandayo
  • Joe Nina f/t Nkiyase – Imali Yomuntu
  • DJ Sumbody f/t Cassper Nyovest, Thebe & Veties – Monate Mpolaye

Radio Station That Plays Kwaito

  • Massiv Metro
  • Mahikeng FM
  • Vow FM (Voice of Wits)
  • Alex FM

Best Music Video

  • Mzekezeke f/t Siya Shezi – Nayi Lento
  • GP MaOrange ft Tsibi and RS – Faka Lento
  • Prince Kaybee f/t Indlovukazi, Supta and Afro Brothers – Gugulethu
  • Cassper Nyovest – Gets Getsa 2.0

Best Producer

  • DJ Cleo
  • Spikiri
  • DJ Shimza
  • DJ Tira

Best New Age Kwaito Song

  • Kwesta – Vur Vai
  • Cassper Nyovest – Remote Control
  • K.O – Waya Waya
  • Cassper Nyovest – Gets Getsa 2.0

Best Kwaito Song (2001-2005)

  • Mandoza f/t Mdu – 50/50 (2001)
  • Brown Dash f/t Zola, Mzekezeke – Puff n Pass (2002)
  • Mapaputsi – Izinja (2003)
  • Kabelo – Love me or leave me alone (2004)

Best Kwaito/Gqom Group or Duo

  • Abafana BaseKasi
  • The Soul Majestik
  • Abofezela
  • Distruction Boyz

Best Mapantsula Dance Group

  • Self-Made Dancers (SMD)
  • Wattville Arts Production
  • Gomora Future Stars
  • Urban Mapantsulas

Best Gqom Artist

  • Sho Madjozi
  • Busiswa
  • TDK Macasette
  • Moonchild Sanelly

Best DJ

  • Nayshen SA
  • Prince Kaybee
  • DJ Siso
  • Heavy K

“I am humbled by the love and passion these young musicians have for Kwaito music and believe that major radio day stations are at a great loss by not playing music from upcoming musicians.” Says the MKHMA CEO, Mrs. Perfecta Malinga. “It’s been a challenging 4 years; but God has been great to us. I urge all South Africans, and especially mainstream media to support these young stars and preserve Kwaito and support our artists by playing local music.”

Voting lines are now open and will close on the 3rd of November 2019. To learn more about the Mzansi Kwaito and House Music Awards, simply visit to check out our website or send an email to [email protected] for more details.

To vote for your favourite artist, group or radio personality, send a text to 40439 in the following format: (Main Keyword) (Sub Keyword) (Artist Name)

E.G To vote for the Best Kwaito Single, Text “MKHMA Kwaitosingle Mshoza to 40439”. SMS costs R2 per vote.

Leave a Comment